Friday, 13 June 2014

Blog Tour:Cursed (The Guardian Chronicles #1) by Trakena Prevost {Review + Giveaway}

Author: Trakena Prevost
Title: Cursed
Series: The Guardian Chronicles #1
Publication Date: December 13th 2013
Publisher: Evernight Teen
Genre: Young Adult Urban Fantasy

Summary from Goodreads

Half-succubus Jazz Watkins spends her nights knee-deep in Chicago drug dens hunting Suecai—an evil kind of incubi and succubae who devour the souls of humans. But when a leader of the Suecai curses her, Jazz has to track him down. Either she kills him before the curse burns through her, or she’ll become a full-fledged, out of control, soul-sucking monster.

She’s got a handful of weeks, absolutely no leads, and only her sexy best guy-friend, Khan, covering her back. But will the growing attraction she feels for Khan get in the way of her mission to save her own life?

Purchase Cursed on


The story

Jazz Watkins is a Dorgai,which is a paranormal creature resembling to a succubus that fights Suecai, the evil version of the Dorgai that lives by feeding off human souls. But during a fight, she's attacked and someone very powerful puts a curse on her, a curse that once she feeds with  human Chi, she will turn into the one creature she's been fighting al along, a Suecai. She has two choices: to kill the person who put the curse on her or learn how to control the need to feed before she ends up killing an innocent human being.

The characters

Jasmine is everything a reader is looking for in a Young Adult story. She's a bad-ass and she loves to kick some supernatural butt! She's also independent and a little bit impulsive but she can't live without her team and especially her best friend Khan. She looks up to her father as well, something that we don't usually encounter while reading YAs. Her father is the Head Dorgai of Chicago and since she was born, she was destined to become the next Head when her father will resign from this position. So in a way, everything she does, she does it in order to prove herself not to her father -because he already knows his daughter id more than capable- but to her self.

Khan is Jasmine's best friend, her protector, her partner and the one person she doesn't have to pretend because he can see the real her and he knows her like no one else will. The thing is Khan has been in love with her for a very long time. He can fight and kill dangerous and murderous Suecai but he's afraid of telling Jasmine how he feels about her because he can't risk loosing her even as a friend.

And of course, there's always a villain who is trying to gain power and Cursed has one who won't stop at nothing until he gets what he's really after: the ability to rule Chicago.


Perfect for fans of Jennifer Armentrout's the Covenant series, Cursed is a story about a fierce and fresh Young Adult heroine with an amazing sense of humour and the ability to get in a lot of trouble. Trakena Prevost is a promising author who introduces us to the dark and mysterious supernatural world of Chicago and I can't wait to find out what happens next!! 

Rating: 4 stars!!

About the Author

Trakena Prevost was born and raised in the great state of Texas, where everything IS bigger and the people are very friendly. She spends most of her time oscillating between being completely obsessed with reading and watching Korean dramas, and writing down the fantastic tales rumbling around in her head. When not reading and writing, Trakena spends her time working in HR for a major medical system in Houston, and hanging out with her family and friends.

Trakena has always loved the many worlds she's found in books, where everything was possible. As a child, you would often catch her enjoying a good story in the comfort of the AC, instead of wilting in the Houston heat (she showed great intelligence...even then). It didn't occur to Trakena that the fanciful stories she made up for fun could one day be out in the world, but now that they are she can't imagine it any other way!